Alexandria

Founded by Alexander the Great in 331 BC. J.-C. Second city of Egypt, less touristic. It is above all a Mediterranean city which draws its roots and its true richness from a mosaic of cultures. Renowned for its Greco-Roman monuments, such as the amphitheater of Kom el Dikka, Citadel of Qaitbay. As well as the ancient city and the Library of Alexandria.

The capital of the country for about 6 centuries, a major center of trade (port of Egypt). And one of the greatest Hellenistic cultural centers of the Mediterranean Sea centered on the famous library. The city during the Hellenistic period presented the largest city in the Greek world.

Nicknamed the “counter of the world. It formed a major commercial center. However leading to the formation of a cosmopolitan population of the order of half a million inhabitants. Unequaled during antiquity. In addition, the city was the capital of lagid power.

This ancient city has suffered various earthquakes. Thus its famous lighthouse and the old great library have disappeared.

This library is the largest in the ancient world. Thus making a place where the great philosophers and scientists of that time came to seek knowledge. Founded in 288 BC. J.-C. And definitively destroyed around the year 48 before our era. The most famous library of antiquity. Although it brings together the most important works of the time. The library was part of a larger complex called the Mouseion dedicated to the Muses. In fact the nine goddesses of the arts. The library quickly acquires many rolls of papyrus. Thus thanks to the voluntarist policy of the Ptolemaic kings. While their number is estimated to be between 40,000 and 400,000 at its peak.

Then the Arabs conquered Egypt in the 7th century. Also decided at that time to build a new capital further south. Cairo. Alexandria thus lost its grandeur and turned to foreign trade.

At the end of the 18th century, Napoleon's troops conquered Alexandria. Similarly, in the middle of the 19th century the British bombed the city.

In modern times, the city of Alexandria experienced significant expansion. Indeed, the medieval city was on dry land, fortified by an enclosure. Although the modern city is built on the ruins of the ancient city which makes excavation difficult.

The Lighthouse of Alexandria one of the Seven Wonders of the World ancient, the lighthouse was 135 meters high with approximately three hundred rooms. Through the center was a double spiral climb. The lantern above the lighthouse remains a mystery. Some say it contained a polished steel mirror that reflected light by day and fire by night. The lighthouse was destroyed by an earthquake around 1302/1303. 

The lighthouse was built to protect sailors from the coast ofAlexandria and also as a work of propaganda. The whole city was overbuilt and the lighthouse was to be its symbol. It will become emblematic of the city and still is today. The lighthouse dominated the coast and allowed sailors to have a point of reference.

We can read in Strabo that the lighthouse was built in white stone. Which would in fact be a local limestone which has the particularity of hardening on contact with water. It is also believed that the most critical parts of the lighthouse are made of granite fromAswan. Moreover, Fort Qait Bay, built on the site of the lighthouse built using the same process.

The unavoidable

Citadel (Fort) of Qaitbay is a 15th century fortresse century built on the site of the ancient lighthouse of Alexandria, Egypt, on the east coast of the northern island of Pharos.

Fort Qaitbay is a fine example of Mamluk era military architecture in Egypt. It was built in the XIVe century under Sultan Al-Ashraf Qaitbay — one of the last Mamluk rulers of Egypt. Construction began in 1477, to be completed two years later.

In order to protect the city against the threat of the Ottoman Empire. Built in a medieval style, the fort was completely restored in 2001/2002; it houses the Navy Museum which contains objects from Roman and Napoleon naval battles.

The entrance is through a passage made of red granite from Aswan. Near the mosque there is a reservoir which was used to store water in case of siege.

From the access to the sea, the underwater excavations, carried out mainly by the teams of Jean-Yves Emperor and Isabelle Hairy of the Center d'études alexandrines, revealed an immense archaeological deposit, with thousands of blocks of architecture, colossal statues, obelisks and sphinx, from the collapse of the Alexandria lighthouse.

Adjacent to the fort, the Hydro-Biological Institute (Alexandria Aquarium) contains a wide variety of rare fish. Further east of the Anfouchi district, there is a small necropolis of five tombs dating from the Ptolemaic period.

Theater (Roman Amphitheater) of Kom el-Dikka means "pile of stones" The site was discovered in 1959 by a team of Poles. Unique in the country The site is still under excavation since 1970. However with the discovery of Roman remains including this theater with galleries. As well as mosaic floor sections. Also marble seats to accommodate up to 800 spectators. At the time of the Ptolemies, this sector was a garden of pleasures. In addition, the theater could be covered to serve as an odeon for musical works. Although inscriptions suggest it was also sometimes used for wrestling contests. So the theater has thirteen semi-circular rows of white marble imported from Europe. Thus its columns are of green marble imported from Asia Minor. And red granite imported from Aswan. Each side is decorated with a geometric mosaic paving made in iie century before our era.

Outside the theater you can see vaults and stone walls. Also Roman brick baths and the remains of Roman houses.

While within the enclosure is installed the open-air underwater museum. To exhibit the sphinxes, obelisks, fragments of colossal statues. Exits from the waters of the Mediterranean by the team of the Center for Alexandrian Studies.

Near this site, towards the fire station, a Ptolemaic temple dedicated to Bastet (Bubasteion).While it has just been discovered by a team of Egyptian archaeologists. In fact this temple built at the request of Queen Berenice, wife of Ptolemy III Euergetes. About six hundred statues, including several with the image of Bastet, are discovered there.

Bibliotheca Alexandrina built approximately on the site of the ancient building of the library of alexandria. While it is a library and a cultural center. Work began in 1995 and cost $220 million. It was inaugurated on October 16, 2002. Although it has the largest reading room in the world. Occupying seven of the main building's eleven floors. Offering 2,000 seats, 180 study rooms and eventually housing eight million books.

Within the framework of a project conducted jointly by Unesco and Egypt. It should be able to accommodate around eight million books. Which makes it a respectable size library on a global scale. However, quite far behind the Library of Congress in the United States, which houses nearly 34.5 million books. Or the François-Mitterrand library in Paris, which contains some twenty million.

In July 2010, the National Library of France donated 500,000 French-language books to the Bibliotheca Alexandrina, as the basis for the partnership between the two institutions.

The Bibliotheca Alexandrina is a trilingual establishment: Arabic, French, English. Although it must become according to its director Ismail Serageldin a high place of the Francophonie in the region.

First of all the library proposed in 2003 for inscription on the world heritage. Thus it appears on the "indicative list" of theUNESCO in the cultural heritage category.

The architecture of the library chosen following a competition organized by Unesco. This is the proposal of a Norwegian architectural firm, Snøhetta, which was adopted. The plan was made by the Egyptian engineer Mamdouh Hamza.

Next to the reading room are three museums. As well as five research institutes as well as exhibition halls.

In the library, the reading rooms are spread over seven levels. Four of which are below sea level. Tall columns adorned with flowers of lotus decorate the interior of the reading rooms. Which can accommodate up to 2,000 people.

A museum is reserved for thousands of ancient manuscripts. including two copies of the Bible offered by the Vatican at the library. As well as a copy of the Description of Egypt. He also has an identical copy of the Rosetta stone. And a book of the memorandum of the inauguration of the Suez Canal. However including paintings of the ceremony of the journey of queens and princes. Although drawn by the artist of Khedive Ismail Pasha.

Catacombs of Kom-el-Chougafa are the largest Roman burial site in Egypt. While discoveries date from September 28, 1900 when a donkey fell into a pit. So caused the ground to collapse and ten meters down. The catacombs of Kom-el-Chouqaf appeared. Makes it one of the most important archaeological sites in Alexandria. This funerary complex, built at the end of the ier century, was used until the beginning of the ive.

These tombs carved into the rock for a wealthy family. They represent the last existing main construction of the ancient Egyptian religion. Although the funerary designs are pure ancient Egyptian style inspired by Greco-Roman patterns.

300 graves were dug, with benches for visitors bringing offerings. The complex also contains small chapels and a spiral staircase. Which descends on three underground levels. But the last level is flooded. The two upper levels include a dining room, which hosted funeral meals and the main tomb. Mixing Egyptian, Greek and Roman symbols.

From the Greeks to the present day, a slow process of aging has altered tomb murals. The coloring of the pigments slowly faded and the paintings tipped into illegibility. In 1993 a change in hygrometry modified the appearance of the walls. Traces of paintings appear, slightly revealing, above one of the tombs in the hall of Caracalla, a fresco hitherto unknown.

In the center of the facade, the familiar solar disk surmounts a frieze of serpents; on the left and on the right two serpents carry the crowns of the Lower Egypt and some Upper Egypt. They are not like the cobras of Saqqara or of Thebes. They seem to be designed like a modern comic. In the chamber of the tomb, the decor includes HorusThothAnubis. The priest in his panther skin, and the king making an offering to the deceased in the form of aOsiris. These figures are rendered in the Greco-Roman style. To the traditional scenes are added the additional groups of grapes. So heads of jellyfish, and a variety of Greek and Roman decorations.

The gardens and the palace of Montaza built in 1892 by King Abbas II. Who built a great palace called the Salamlek. In 1932, King Fouad Ier built a bigger palace and called it the Haramlik. His son, the king Farouk, built the pier over the sea. The rest of the space is made up of gardens.

While the summer residence of Khedive Abbas Hilmy. Then, he welcomed the guests of King Farouk. Only the exterior of the building is accessible to visitors. However the interior serving as a residence for Egyptian presidents. In fact this place is very quiet. Although it offers you the opportunity to travel in a 150 hectare park that surrounds a palace. Not to be missed, there reigns a gentle atmosphere conducive to daydreaming and above all one of the most remarkable fauna. One of the favorite places for Alexandrians like to walk in the gardens and on the corniche.

Alexandria Beaches which extend from Al-Ma'amora in the east to Agamy in the west, about 24 km long. The beaches of Alexandria are very popular with Egyptians. In fact they are ideal places for the inhabitants and places of relaxation. Thanks to the geographical location of Alexandria it has gained popularity among Arab countries as a resort. Also a good place where you can spend the summer. Because it has more than 35 beaches including: tourist beaches, distinguished beaches and free beaches. One of the most famous geographical landmarks in Alexandria is the Eastern Port with its crescent shape.

Diocletian's Column (Pompey's Pillar) is a monolithic column of red granite from Aswan. Twenty-five meters high, nine meters in circumference. After his defeat by Julius Caesar in the civil war, Pompey fled to Egypt where he was assassinated in -48 BC Thus medieval travelers later believed that he should be buried here.

While actually built in honor of Emperor Diocletian at the end of the 4th century. Who captured Alexandria after besieging it.                                                                         

It is located in the Archaeological Park of Alexandria in Egypt. At the place where the Serapeum.

Then the Arabs called it Amoud el-Sawari, column of columns. This column is the tallest ancient monument in Alexandria. So originally in the temple of Sarapis which was once a magnificent structure rivaling the Soma and the Caesareum.

Nearby there are underground galleries where sacred Apis bulls were buried as well as three sphinxes. Inside a park in which archaeological work is still being carried out.

During the expedition to Egypt, scholars made many reports on their work in description of Egypt, including one on the so-called Pompey's Pillar.

The Serapeum of Alexandria in antiquity a sanctuary dedicated to Serapis. In fact the Greco-Egyptian cult of Serapis  established by the Ptolemies, but probably at Memphis. Archaeological excavations indicate that the temple of Alexandria was founded under Ptolemy III. He wanted to magnify a god who could unite the Egyptian people with the Greek rulers. Although He was in the Egyptian district of Rakôtis. On a raised ground which made it call the “Acropolis of Alexandria”. So Serapis had characteristics of both religions and became the protector of Alexandria.

Archaeological remains indicate that the cult was very popular there. So bilingual foundation plates where the name of Serapis also appears in the Egyptian form "Oser-Api". bull statue Apis in black granite, today at Greco-Roman Museum of Alexandria. Two obelisks and two sphinx in red granite. An annex of the famous library of alexandria which in Roman times. Destroyed in 392 by Theophilus of Alexandria, Bishop of Alexandria. While enforcing a decree of Theodosius Ier authorizing the closure and demolition of pagan temples. Completely razed and replaced by a Christian church. All that remains is the dedicatory column of Diocletian, better known as Pompey's column.

Cairo Tours

7 days
Availability : January 25 - January 30
Cairo
Alexandria - Al Fayoum
5.0 from 43 reviewsRatings and reviews5.0 from 43 reviews04-11-2021B chaimaThree weeks before our departure for Egypt I realized that organizing our trip alone was almost impossible and too complicated… so I did some research and I came across Terra trips! reading the reviews on different sites I […]
From€845
0
View Details

Siwa Oasis Trip

8 days
Availability : January 22 - January 29
Cairo
Alexandria - Siwa Oasis - The Great Sea of Sand
5.0 from 43 reviewsRatings and reviews5.0 from 43 reviews04-11-2021B chaimaThree weeks before our departure for Egypt I realized that organizing our trip alone was almost impossible and too complicated… so I did some research and I came across Terra trips! reading the reviews on different sites I […]
From€1,690
0
View Details

Cairo and Luxor and Aswan Excursions

15 days
Availability : January 15 - January 30
Cairo
Alexandria - Al Fayoum - Dendera - Luxor - Aswan
5.0 from 43 reviewsRatings and reviews5.0 from 43 reviews04-11-2021B chaimaThree weeks before our departure for Egypt I realized that organizing our trip alone was almost impossible and too complicated… so I did some research and I came across Terra trips! reading the reviews on different sites I […]
From€2,390€2,340
0
View Details

Alexandrie

Fondée par Alexandre le Grand en 331 av. J.-C. Deuxième ville d’Egypte, moins touristique. C’est avant tout une cité méditerranéenne qui puise ses racines et sa vraie richesse dans une mosaïque de cultures. Réputée par ses monuments gréco-romains, comme l’amphithéâtre de Kom el Dikka, Citadelle de Qaitbay. Ainsi que l’ancienne ville et la Bibliothèque d’Alexandrie.

La capitale du pays pendant environ 6 siècles, un grand centre de commerce (port d’Égypte). Et un des plus grands foyers culturels hellénistiques de la mer Méditerranée centré sur la fameuse bibliothèque. La cité durant l’époque hellénistique présentait la plus grande ville du monde grec.

Surnommée le « comptoir du monde. Elle formait un pôle commercial majeur. Toutefois aboutissant à la formation d’une population cosmopolite de l’ordre d’un demi-million d’habitants. Inégalée durant l’Antiquités. De plus, la ville était la capitale du pouvoir lagide.

Cette ville antique a subi divers tremblements de terre. Ainsi son célèbre Phare et l’ancienne grande bibliothèque ont disparus.

Cette bibliothèque est la plus grande du monde antique. En faisant ainsi un endroit où les grands philosophes et scientifiques de cette époque venaient chercher des connaissances. Fondée en 288 av. J.-C. Et définitivement détruite vers l’an 48 avant notre ère. La plus célèbre bibliothèque de l’Antiquité. Bien qu’elle réunît les ouvrages les plus importants de l’époque. La bibliothèque faisait partie d’un ensemble plus vaste nommé le Mouseîon dédié aux Muses. En fait les neuf déesses des arts. La librairie acquiert rapidement de nombreux rouleaux de papyrus. Ainsi grâce à la politique volontariste des rois ptolémaïques. Alors que l’on estime leur nombre entre 40000 et 400000 à son apogée.

Ensuite les Arabes ont conquis l’Egypte en VIIème siècle. Aussi décidé à cette époque de bâtir une nouvelle capitale plus au sud. Le Caire. Alexandrie a ainsi perdu de sa grandeur et s’est tournée vers le commerce extérieur.

A la fin du XVIIIème siècle, les troupes de Napoléon ont conquis Alexandrie. De même, vers le milieu du XIXème siècle les britanniques bombardent la ville.

À l’époque moderne, la ville d’Alexandrie connut une expansion importante. En effet, la ville médiévale se trouvait sur la terre ferme, fortifiée par une enceinte. Bien que la ville moderne soit construite sur les ruines de la ville antique ce qui rend les fouilles difficiles.

Le Phare d’Alexandrie une des Sept Merveilles du monde antique, le phare avait 135 mètres de haut avec approximativement trois cents salles. Par le centre était une double montée en spirale. La lanterne au-dessus du phare reste un mystère. Certains indiquent qu’il contenait un miroir en acier poli qui réfléchissait la lumière le jour, et le feu la nuit. Le phare a été détruit par un tremblement de terre autour de 1302/1303. 

Le phare a été construit pour protéger les marins de la côte d’Alexandrie et également comme œuvre de propagande. La ville tout entière a été construite de façon démesurée et le phare devait en être le symbole. Il deviendra emblématique de la ville et l’est encore aujourd’hui. Le phare dominait la côte et permettait aux marins d’avoir un point de repère.

On peut lire chez Strabon que le phare construit en pierre blanche. Qui serait en fait un calcaire local qui a la particularité de durcir au contact de l’eau. On pense aussi que les parties les plus critiques du phare sont réalisées en granit d’Assouan. D’ailleurs le fort Qait Bay, édifié sur l’emplacement du phare construit selon le même procédé.

Les incontournables

Citadelle (Fort) de Qaitbay est une forteresse du xve siècle édifiée sur le site de l’ancien phare d’Alexandrie, en Égypte, sur la côte est du nord de l’île de Pharos.

Le fort Qaitbay est un bel exemple d’architecture militaire de l’époque mamelouke en Égypte. Il a été construit au xive siècle sous les ordres du sultan Al-Ashraf Qaitbay — un des derniers souverains mamelouks d’Égypte. La construction débute en 1477, pour s’achever deux ans plus tard.

Dans le but de protéger la ville contre la menace de l’Empire ottoman. Construit dans un style médiéval, le fort a été entièrement restauré en 2001/2002 ; il abrite le musée de la Marine qui contient des objets des batailles navales romaines et de Napoléon.

L’entrée se fait par un passage en granit rouge d’Assouan. Près de la mosquée, il y a un réservoir qui a été utilisé pour stocker l’eau en cas de siège.

À partir de l’accès à la mer, les fouilles sous-marines, réalisées essentiellement par les équipes de Jean-Yves Empereur et Isabelle Hairy du Centre d’études alexandrines, ont révélé un immense gisement archéologique, avec des milliers de blocs d’architecture, des statues colossales, des obélisques et des sphinx, en provenance de l’effondrement du phare d’Alexandrie.

Adjacent au fort, l’institut hydro-biologique (aquarium d’Alexandrie) contient une grande variété de poissons rares. Plus à l’est du quartier d’Anfouchi, il y a une petite nécropole de cinq tombes datant de l’époque ptolémaïque.

Théâtre (Amphithéâtre romain) de Kom el-Dikka signifie « tas de pierres » Le site est découvert en 1959 par une équipe de Polonais. Unique dans le pays Le site est toujours en fouilles depuis 1970. Toutefois avec la découverte de restes romains comprenant ce théâtre avec des galeries. Ainsi que des sections de plancher en mosaïque. Aussi des sièges de marbre pour accueillir jusqu’à 800 spectateurs. Au temps des Ptolémées, ce secteur était un jardin de plaisirs. Par ailleurs le théâtre pourrait être couvert pour servir d’odéon à des œuvres musicales. Bien que les inscriptions suggèrent qu’il a également parfois employé pour des concours de lutte. Donc le théâtre comporte treize rangées semi-circulaires de marbre blanc importé d’Europe. Ainsi ses colonnes sont de marbre vert importé d’Asie Mineure. Et de granit rouge importé d’Assouan. Chaque côté est décoré d’un pavage géométrique de mosaïque fabriquée au iie siècle avant notre ère.

Hors du théâtre, on peut voir des voûtes et des murs en pierre. Aussi des bains romains en briques et les restes de maisons romaines.

Alors que dans l’enceinte est installé le  musée sous-marin en plein air.  Pour exposer les sphinx, des obélisques, des fragments de statues colossales. Sorties des eaux de la Méditerranée par l’équipe du Centre d’études alexandrines.

Près de ce site, vers la caserne des pompiers, un temple ptolémaïque dédié à Bastet (Bubasteion).Alors que il  vient d’être découvert par une équipe d’archéologues égyptiens. En fait ce temple construit à la demande de la reine Bérénice, épouse de Ptolémée III Évergète. Environ six cents statues, dont plusieurs à l’image de Bastet, y sont découvertes.

Bibliotheca Alexandrina construite approximativement à l’emplacement de l’édifice antique de la bibliothèque d’Alexandrie. Alors qu’elle est une bibliothèque et un centre culturel. Les travaux débutèrent en 1995 et coûtèrent 220 millions de dollars. Elle fut inaugurée le 16 octobre 2002. Bien qu’elle dispose la plus grande salle de lecture au monde. Occupant sept des onze étages du bâtiment principal. Offrant ainsi 2 000 places assises, 180 salles d’étude et devant héberger à terme huit millions d’ouvrages.

Dans le cadre d’un projet conduit conjointement par l’Unesco et l’Égypte. Elle devrait pouvoir accueillir environ huit millions d’ouvrages. Ce qui en fait une bibliothèque de taille respectable à l’échelle mondiale. Cependant assez loin derrière la bibliothèque du Congrès, aux États-Unis, qui abrite près de 34,5 millions d’ouvrages. Ou la bibliothèque François-Mitterrand, à Paris, qui en contient quelque vingt millions.

La Bibliothèque nationale de France a effectué en juillet 2010 un don de 500 000 ouvrages francophones à la Bibliotheca Alexandrina, comme socle du partenariat entre les deux institutions.

La Bibliotheca Alexandrina est un établissement trilingue : arabe, français, anglais. Bien qu’elle doit devenir selon son directeur Ismail Serageldin un haut lieu de la francophonie dans la région.

Tout d’abord la bibliothèque proposée en 2003 pour une inscription au patrimoine mondial. Ainsi elle figure sur la « liste indicative » de l’UNESCO dans la catégorie patrimoine culturel.

L’architecture de la bibliothèque choisie à l’issue d’un concours organisé par l’Unesco. C’est la proposition d’une agence d’architecture norvégienne, Snøhetta, qui a été retenue. Le plan a été réalisé par l’ingénieur égyptien Mamdouh Hamza.

À côté de la salle de lecture se trouvent trois musées. Ainsi que cinq instituts de recherche ainsi que des salles d’exposition.

Dans la bibliothèque, les salles de lecture s’étagent sur sept niveaux. Dont quatre se trouvent sous le niveau de la mer. De hautes colonnes ornées de fleurs de lotus décorent l’intérieur des salles de lecture. Qui peuvent ainsi accueillir jusqu’à 2 000 personnes.

Un musée est réservé à des milliers de manuscrits anciens. Dont deux copies de la Bible offertes par le Vatican à la bibliothèque. Ainsi qu’une copie de la Description de l’Égypte. Il possède aussi une copie identique de la pierre de Rosette. Et un livre du mémorandum de l’inauguration du canal de Suez. Toutefois comprenant des tableaux de la cérémonie du voyage des reines et des princes. Bien que dessinés par l’artiste du Khédive Ismaïl Pacha.

Catacombes de Kôm-el-Chougafa constituent le plus grand site funéraire romain d’Égypte. Alors que découvertes date du 28 septembre 1900 lorsqu’un âne tombe dans une fosse. Donc provoqua l’effondrement du sol et dix mètres plus bas. Sont apparues les catacombes de Kom-el-Chouqaf.  En fait l’un des plus importants sites archéologiques d’Alexandrie. Ce complexe funéraire, construit à la fin du ier siècle, fut utilisé jusqu’au début du ive.

Ces tombeaux creusés dans la roche pour une riche famille. Ils représentent la dernière construction principale existante de l’ancienne religion égyptienne. Bien que les motifs funéraires soient de style égyptien antique pur inspirés des modèles gréco-romains.

300 tombes ont été creusées, avec des bancs pour les visiteurs apportant des offrandes. Le complexe contient également des petites chapelles et un escalier en colimaçon. Qui descend sur trois niveaux souterrains. Mais le dernier niveau est inondé. Les deux niveaux supérieurs comprennent une salle à manger, qui accueillait les repas funéraires et le tombeau principal. Mélangeant des symboles égyptiens, grecs et romains.

Des Grecs à nos jours, un lent processus de vieillissement a altéré les peintures murales des tombes. La coloration des pigments s’est lentement estompée et les peintures ont basculé dans l’illisibilité. En 1993 un changement d’hygrométrie modifie l’apparence des parois. Des traces de peintures apparaissent, révélant légèrement, au-dessus d’une des tombes du hall de Caracalla, une fresque jusqu’alors inconnue.

Au centre de la façade, le disque solaire familier surmonte une frise de serpents ; à gauche et à droite deux serpents portent les couronnes de la Basse-Égypte et de la Haute-Égypte. Ce ne sont pas comme les cobras de Saqqarah ou de Thèbes. Ils semblent être conçus comme une bande dessinée moderne. Dans la chambre du tombeau, le décor comprend HorusThotAnubis. Le prêtre dans sa peau de panthère, et le roi faisant une offrande aux défunts sous forme d’Osiris. Ces figures sont rendues dans le modèle gréco-romain. Aux scènes traditionnelles s’ajoutent les groupes supplémentaires de raisins. Donc de têtes de méduse, et d’une variété de décors grecs et romains.

Les jardins et le palais de Montaza construits en 1892 par le roi Abbas II. Qui a construit un grand palais appelé le Salamlek. En 1932, le roi Fouad Ier a construit un plus grand palais et l’a appelé le Haramlik. Son fils, le roi Farouk, a construit la jetée sur la mer. Le reste de l’espace est constitué de jardins.

Alors que la résidence d’été du Khédive Abbas Hilmy. Puis, il accueillit les hôtes du roi Farouk. Seul l’extérieur du bâtiment est accessible à la visite. Toutefois l’intérieur servant de résidence pour les présidents égyptiens. En fait cet endroit est très tranquille. Bien qu’il vous offre la possibilité de voyager dans un parc de 150 hectares qui entoure un palais.  À ne pas manquer il y règne une douce atmosphère propice à la rêverie et surtout une faune des plus remarquables. Un de lieux préférés pour les Alexandrins aiment se promener dans les jardins et sur la corniche.

Plages d’Alexandrie qui s’étendent d Al-Ma’amora a l’Est jusqu’ au Agamy à l’Ouest d’environ 24 km de long. Les plages d’Alexandrie sont très fréquentées par les égyptiens. En fait elles sont des lieux idéals pour les habitants et des endroits de détente. Grâce à la situation géographique d’Alexandrie elle a acquis la popularité parmi les pays arabes comme un Centre de villégiature. De plus un bon endroit où on peut y passer l’été.  Car elle renferme plus de 35 plages parmi lesquelles : plages touristiques, plages distinguées et plages gratuites.  Un des monuments géographiques les plus célèbres à Alexandrie est le Port de l’Est avec sa forme de croissant.

La colonne de Dioclétien (colonne de Pompée) est une colonne monolithique en granit rouge d’Assouan. De vingt-cinq mètres de haut, d’une circonférence de neuf mètres. Après sa défaite par Jules César dans la guerre civile, Pompée se sauve en Égypte où il est assassiné en -48 Av.J.C. Ainsi les voyageurs médiévaux ont cru plus tard qu’il devait être enterré ici.

Alors que en réalité construite en l’honneur de l’empereur Dioclétien à la fin du ive siècle. Qui a capturé Alexandrie après l’avoir assiégée.                                                                         

Elle se trouve dans le parc archéologique d’Alexandrie en Égypte. A l’endroit où se trouvait le Sérapéum.

Ensuite les Arabes l’ont appelé Amoud el-Sawari, colonne des colonnes. Cette colonne est le monument antique le plus grand à Alexandrie. Donc à l’origine dans le temple du Sarapis qui était par le passé une structure magnifique rivalisant le Sôma et le Caesareum.

Tout près, il y a des galeries souterraines où des taureaux sacrés Apis ont été enterrés ainsi que trois sphinx. A l’intérieur d’un parc dans lequel des travaux archéologiques sont encore en cours d’exécution.

Lors de l’expédition d’Égypte, les savants ont établi de nombreux rapports sur leurs travaux de description de l’Égypte, dont un sur la colonne dite de Pompée.

Le Sérapéum d’Alexandrie dans l’Antiquité un sanctuaire dédié à Sérapis. En fait le culte gréco-égyptien de Sérapis  établi par les Ptolémées, mais sans doute à Memphis. Les fouilles archéologiques indiquent que le temple d’Alexandrie fut fondé sous Ptolémée III. Il a voulu magnifier un dieu qui pourrait unir le peuple égyptien avec les souverains grecs. Bien qu’Il se trouvait dans le quartier égyptien de Rakôtis. Sur un terrain surélevé qui le faisait surnommer l’« Acropole d’Alexandrie ». Donc Sérapis avait des caractéristiques des deux religions et est devenu le protecteur d’Alexandrie.

Les vestiges archéologiques indiquent que le culte y était très populaire. Donc plaques de fondation bilingues où le nom de Sérapis apparaît aussi sous la forme égyptienne « Oser-Api ». Statue du taureau Apis en granit noir, aujourd’hui au musée gréco-romain d’Alexandrie. Deux obélisques et deux sphinx en granit rouge. On y installa aussi une annexe de la célèbre bibliothèque d’Alexandrie qui, à l’époque romaine. Détruit en 392 par Théophile d’Alexandrie, évêque d’Alexandrie. Alors qu’appliquant un décret de Théodose Ier autorisant la fermeture et la démolition des temples païens.  Entièrement rasé et remplacé par une église chrétienne. Il n’en reste que la colonne dédicatoire de Dioclétien, plus connue sous l’appellation de colonne de Pompée.

4-A-Excursions-au-Caire-Photo-principale

Excursions au Caire

7 jours
Disponibilité : 23 Avril - 29 Avril
Le Caire
Alexandrie - Al Fayoum
À partir de€845
0
Voir les détails
Le Caire et Alexandrie et Oasis Siwa

Voyage Oasis Siwa

8 jours
Disponibilité : 1 Mai - 8 Mai
Le caire
Alexandrie - Oasis Siwa
À partir de€1,080
0
Voir les détails

Excursions le Caire et Louxor et Assouan

15 jours
Disponibilité : 15 Avril - 29 Avril
Le Caire
Alexandrie - Al Fayoum - Dendérah - Louxor - Assouan
À partir de€2,390€2,340
0
Voir les détails